Skip to main content.

February 13, 2008 - SLAC Director Emeritus Awarded the 2007 AAAS Philip Hauge Abelson Prize

Date Issued: February 13, 2008


Relevant Web URLs:


(Photo - Burt Richter)

      Burton Richter

Menlo Park, CA—Professor Burton Richter has been named the winner of the 2007 Philip Hauge Abelson Prize by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). The prize will be awarded to Richter by AAAS President David Baltimore and CEO Alan I. Leshner at the 174th AAAS Meeting in Boston, Massachusetts, on Saturday, February 16, 2008.

Richter, a Nobel Laureate (Physics, 1976), is the Paul Pigott Professor in the Physical Sciences Emeritus at Stanford University, Senior Fellow at the University's Freeman Spogli Institute for International Studies, and Director Emeritus at the Stanford Linear Accelerator Center.

The AAAS Philip Hauge Abelson Prize is awarded annually to either a public servant in recognition of sustained exceptional contributions to advancing science, or a scientist whose career has been distinguished for scientific achievement and other notable services to the scientific community. Richter will be awarded the prize "for his world-class contributions to research, his successful management of a leading scientific laboratory, and his unrelenting efforts to advance science and to promote its responsible use in shaping public policy."

The AAAS Philip Hauge Abelson Prize was established in 1985 by the AAAS Board of Directors. More information about the American Association for the Advancement of Science is available at

More information about the career of Professor Burton Richter is available at


Contact Us | Privacy Notice, Security Notice and Terms of Use |

Last update: